The 7 Primary Chakras Of Energy Centers Within The Body

Everything in the known universe is made up of energy. The difference is the nature of energy, the form of the energy, and it’s state.

This also implies that biological life such as us humans are made up of energy.

One of the most widely studied ancient concepts of energy within the human body is that of the chakras. In Sanskrit, the term “chakra” refers to wheel. This goes a long way to understanding how energy is visualized in these teachings.

In the broader text of this concept, there are 4 main component that consist of:

  • Body
  • Chakra
  • Nadis
  • Prana

The body referring to the subject which energy is moving within. The chakras acting as the centers. The nadis being the channels. And prana represented by the trains and commuters.

If we use a metaphor to better elaborate this, the body is like a city, a chakra is like a subway station, and nadis is like the railways connecting the different stations.

From these 3 basic components, the chakras have gained much more infamy worldwide compared to the other 2. That is not to say that body and nadis are just stuff that are good-to-know. It just means that people have generally taken a higher interest in chakras.

In writings contained in excavated ancient monuments, over 88,000 chakras have been specifically identified within the body. But experts have generally determined that there are essentially 7 primary chakras, with about 50 being secondary, and the rest being too small to play a significant role in energy flow.

The 7 points are found along a vertical arrangement that runs from the top of the head, down the spinal cord and to the area near the tail bone.

It is said that mastery of the 7 chakras would enable one to attain high levels of spirituality and awareness, enter the astral plane, see into a different dimension, experience remote viewing, etc. The possibilities are essentially limitless.

When they are out of sync, one will experience negative physical and mental health.

The objective is always to keep them open and free from blockages.

The most common methods used to control them are with yoga, breathing techniques and meditation.

1) Mooladhara

Sometimes spelt as muladhara, the first chakra can also be commonly described as the base center or root chakra.

Even though it is known as one of the “higher” chakras, it is located in the space between the genitals and anus. Somewhere along the coccyx and opens in a downward orientation.

It is associated with the earth element, the color red, and the sense of smell.

The mooladhara keeps us grounded and is what enables us to connect with the natural world created by mother nature. Which also implies that it is linked to our natural need for survival, safety and stability.

2) Swadhistana

The swadhitana is also sometimes spelt as svadhitana. In English, it is usually called the sacral chakra.

Strategically located just above the genitals area, it is close to the sacrum and opens in a frontal orientation.

It is linked to the water element, the color orange, and the sense of taste.

The swadhitana is linked to physical pleasure and expression. No just in the sensual sense but also other physical experiences.

3) Manipuraka

The manipuraka is located about an inch above the navel and opens outwards toward the front.

It must be mentioned that the exact location is still contended today with some experts locating it right below the navel instead. However, different practitioners might still be pointing to the same spot. Just that we can be confused when using the navel as the reference point.

It can sometimes be termed as just manipura or solar plexus chakra.

This third chakra is related to the fire element, the color yellow, and the sense of sight.

It is associated with an individual’s core values, what makes him who he is, how he identifies himself, etc. Typically things related to confidence, self-esteem, discipline and wisdom.

4) Anahata

Anahata is commonly known as the heart chakra because it is situated at the center of the chest.

It opens to the front and is associated with the element of air, the color green, and the sense of touch.

As the centerpoint of the 7 chakras, it plays the critical role of connecting the 3 upper with the 3 lower ones.

Those who suffer from blockages in this area would usually have very one-dimensional personalities.

Understandably, the anahata is related to love and emotions, including that of compassion.

5) Vishuddhi

Vishuddhi, or Vishuddha as some call it, is located at the throat area.

It opens towards the front and is connected to the ether element, light blue color, and the sense of hearing.

This energy center is linked to communications and expressions.

For someone who is able to harness energy at this energy center, he or she would be able to articulate and inspire. Which why those who are competent in using it are often able to attain positions of power and status.

6) Agna

The agna, or ajna, is also frequently labeled as the brow chakra or the third eye chakra.

It is located at the space right between the eyebrows and opens at a frontal orientation.

It is represented by the color dark blue (indigo) and linked to all senses, including those of psychic nature.

Agna is linked to intelligence, mental strength, higher consciousness, etc.

Those who seek inner-peace and spirituality will focus on this energy point during meditation.

7) Sahasrar

Sahasra, or sahasrara, is the seventh of the primary chakras and is located right at the crown of the head.

The color association is purple.

While the Agna is linked to a higher awareness, sahasra is linked to the divine and celestial.

If one is seeking connection with the cosmos, this is the energy center to focus on for transcension and manifestation.